Lois Whitford Memorial Scholarship

The Lois Whitford Memorial Scholarship is a scholarship that was formed in 1997 by ODHA's Professional Development Council to honor the memory of Lois Whitford. Lois was a very influential leader within Oregon Dental Hygienists' Association and the American Dental Hygienists' Association. She graduated from the University of Oregon Dental Hygiene School and taught there several years before establishing the dental hygiene program at Mt. Hood Community College in 1970.

Lois retired in 1984 and continued her spirited leadership through various ODHA activities. She was the first recipient of the Oregon Dental Hygienists' Association's Outstanding Dental Hygienist Award now renamed the Lois Whitford Outstanding Dental Hygienist Award. In June of 1994 Lois Whitford passed away and is greatly missed.

This scholarship is offered annually in the spring to the graduating dental hygiene students and is based on the submission of an essay selected by a committee of former students of Lois Whitford.

The honor roll of recipients are:

2023 - Jaymie Lynn Willis, OIT Chemeketa

2021 - Silvia Santellano, Pacific University

2021- Ruthaitip Glaser, Mt. Hood Community College
2019 - Yana Khriptiyevskiy, Mt. Hood Community College
2018 - Yvette Ly, Pacific University
2017 - Georgina Mendoza, Mt. Hood Community College
2016 - Shelly Gregory, Pacific University
2015 - Shayla Quynh Coffman, Pacific University
2014 - Teri Pardue, Oregon Institute of Technology
2013 - Monica Smith, Pacific University
2012 - Tracy Campos, Carrington College
2011- Mostafa Alaoui, Portland Community College
2010 - Christina Wilson - Pacific University
2009 - Krista Moore - Mount Hood Community College
2008 - Alyssia Puente, Mount Hood Community College
2007 - Sandra LaVine - Oregon Institute Of Technology
2006 - April Cherney - Portland Community College
2005 -Jennifer Schweitzer - Portland Community College
2004 - Rebecca Sinn - Mt. Hood Community College
2003 - Sarah Wheeler - Portland Community College
2002 - Mary Ann Ruth Boss - Lane Community College
2001 - Brenda Monia - Lane Community College
2000 - Hildie Oliver - Oregon Health Sciences University
1999 - Stephanie Fry - Lane Community College
1998 - Lorie Gerard - Lane Community College
1997 - Tracie Moser - Oregon Institute of Technology

For more information, contact Lori Killen Aus: [email protected]